A Saturday Night Film Guide

12 Mar

So we all know the best way to have a rocking Saturday night… a movie night! This works especially well if you have spent Friday night drinking a tad more than you should. So if you want a good cry on a Saturday (and who wouldn’t!) here are my recommendations for the perfect movie night. A caution though if you have a heart at least one of these films will make you cry.

First up is Dear John (currently showing on Sky Anytime). Now I thought this film was going to be crap… I won’t lie, but I was left pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t a cry your eyes out success but it had enough story without just being the typical fall in love live happily ever after.

Dear John, as you have probably seen from the adverts, is about a couple who meet, fall in love in two weeks (yes I know!!) and then he goes to war. They write to eachother and try to make the relationship work. I think my favourite and most unexpected thing about the film was the autism element, it gave a bit of depth to the story and made it something a bit different. Dear John is a lot more about the relationships between the main characters and their family as opposed to eachother and I think it is sweet and easy watching and the perfect way to begin your evening.

Next up is Harry Brown. Now it’s getting a little later in the evening it is time to move on to the gangster film. I liked Harry Brown although it made me cry a lot! I found certain parts of the film very disturbing and I think that has made me a little biased as to how good it is. I really like it but I find anything with older people left in an intimidated position a little hard to watch.

Harry Brown is the story of a man who lives on a rough London estate. He sees the gangs around there controlling the area and basically running riot. The last straw is when his best friend is targeted. He decides to take a stand and goes about ridding the area of these people. Plan B is main ‘baddie’ in the film and it has made me dislike him so I guess good acting.

So finally to end the evening in tears… and I defy you not to cry is Hachi: A Dog’s Tale. Again this is showing on Sky at the moment. Oh dear this film made me SOB.

It is hard to say anything about this film without spoiling it but all I will say is if you are a dog lover and you think Marley and Me was sad… well you need to watch this!!

Leave a comment